Pure.

snap peas, picked fresh, eaten immediately.

Even as an informed consumer who very much falls into a specialty market segment, I find a lot (most) gluten-free products to be disappointing. Promising the moon, tasting quite similar to moondust, so many of these overpriced gluten-free products are just….unsavory.

We are lucky to live in the Pacific Northwest, this fertile, wet green land, where things grow. I suppose I might sing a different tune if I lived in the desert, but as climates go, we’re lucky. With that in mind, I’ve begun to have somewhat of a backlash against gluten-free products with more than a handful of ingredients. I want fruits and veggies with nothing added. I don’t want my bread to be made with 35 ingredients I barely understand, all working furiously to try to replicate a different substance and texture.  I am impressed by many of the local bakers in town, and they certainly do wonderful work, but I consider most of these items treats, and for the bulk of my diet, simplicity is the key.   Especially in summer, why would your salad need more than a simple, beautiful oil, greens and veggies? Why do we need pricey sauces and dressings when we all know how to whip up simple flavors of the season?  I am guilty of not being the most inventive cook, sticking to things I know, but when it comes to ingredient, I aim for fresh, local, healthy.

Healthy, fresh, local.

So, with sun and abundance of local veggies and fruits firmly within our sights, I am going to attempt a summer of the simplest meals I can muster.  As an added bonus, it takes a lot of the guesswork out of the GF equation. There are literally hundreds of choices of fresh produce that have always and will always be gluten free. Yum.

 

 

One thought on “Pure.

Leave a Reply

