Finding the Inspiration to Bake

cookie time

As a Celiac, I sometimes feel a strong obligation to get busy in the kitchen. It’s true that being gluten-free means I eat at home much more often, and have perfected my stir-fry skills to a science. But baking is another matter. I never baked as a gluten-eater, yet feel the urge to now.  There are certainly many pre-made mixes that would ease the process considerably, yet I think a from-scratch approach is the most satisfying way. Recently I’ve found a tremendous wealth of photo inspiration for this task. Spend a few minutes poking around on Flickr and you’ll surely find thousands of photos of gluten-free cupcakes, cookies, cakes, pies and tortes. I am mustering the courage to make the baking leap, and will report back soon!

2 thoughts on “Finding the Inspiration to Bake

  1. Gina

    I never considered myself a great baker before I went gluten-free. Now I bake all the time! It’s partly a matter of being able to have things that I want – scones and waffles to be specific – but I also enjoy the challenge. I never appreciated the magic of the gluten protein in a dough until I eliminated it. Fortunately here in Portland there are a lot of good resources to tap. Good luck with your experiments! I’ll be interested to hear what you come up with.

    Reply
  2. Nikki

    I’m not gf but many of my family members are. I came across this chocolate chip recipe that was pretty easy for beginners. No mixing flours…actually no flour at all! It makes a very small batch.

    1 cup ground almonds (almond meal)
    3.5 TBS melted butter (cooled)
    1/4 cup sugar
    1 egg
    1/2 cup whatever you want (dried fruit, or chocolate chips…add a tsp of cinnamon if you take the fruit route)
    1 tsp vanilla extract
    a pinch of salt (optional)

    Preheat oven to 340 degrees

    mix together all the ingredients, fold in fruit or chocolate. Line baking tray with parchment paper. Drop heaping teaspoons of batter on baking tray.

    Bake for 15-20 minutes until done. Take out of oven when the sides start to brown.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

