Gluten-free beer (and food) tasting!

Last week I was invited to a GF beer tasting, which I was only slightly skeptical of. Skeptical because I’ve tried just about every gluten-free beer I’ve come across, and all of them have been……lackluster. Even the supposed ‘award winning’ beers have tasted mediocre, and cost a fortune! It’s one thing to claim to make a decent GF beer, but to actually make one that people WANT to drink has seemed impossible.

After trying four varieties from the folks at the up-and-coming Bent Brewing, I can say with confidence that the status quo is being challenged.  The beers we tasted ranged from a rich, coffee-like craft brew to an easy-to-drink session beer. There were perhaps twenty of us in attendance, and several folks I was standing with were of the non-GF variety. They said with total conviction that they would have ordered one of these beers if given a choice. That’s a pretty resounding success, if I do say so myself.  A great thanks to those that made the event possible, and we definitely look forward to seeing these great GF beers soon!

food and beer tasting...all of it good!

food and beer tasting...all of it good!

3 thoughts on “Gluten-free beer (and food) tasting!

    1. glutenfreepdx Post author

      Hey Gina, there was a Craigslist posting for a tasting hosted by the newly established Bent Brewing. Great beer! If I hear of anything else, I’ll let you know!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

