‘Mock Pok’ Chicken Wings

So, I’ll admit it. Pok Pok makes such amazing food, that I’ve very occasionally cheated on my mandatory GF diet to sneak a bite. And when friends were devouring SIX orders of their wings a few weeks back, the smell overtook me.  I grabbed one, and took a bite. WOW. The sticky, sweet, rich sauce was incredible, and I hid my shame as I devoured the wing.  I paid for it, though, and going forward, I promised myself I’d try to replicate the recipe with a gluten-free soy sauce.

Luckily, my mom is a great cook, and I had actually remembered having a similarly delicious wing growing up. Sure enough, she pulled out her recipe and read it to me over the phone.  They were called LaBrea Tar Pit Wings from the Gourmet Cookbook.  They have the same soy, molasses flavor as Pok Pok’s, and were a good place to start.

I did some reading, and it turns out I wasn’t the only one who loved the wings.

I basically modified the La Brea wings and added fish sauce, extra ginger, and garlic.  They were great.

450 degree oven

  • 24 chicken wings (about 4 pounds)
  • 1 cup GF Tamari
  • 1/2 cup fish sauce
  • 1/2 cup dry red wine
  • 1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 tablespoons fresh ginger

    Arrange wings, skin sides down, in a roasting pan large enough to hold them in one layer.

    In a small saucepan heat remaining ingredients over moderately low heat, stirring, until sugar is dissolved and pour evenly over wings.

    Bake wings in middle of oven 45 minutes. Turn wings over and bake until cooking liquid is thick and sticky, about 45 minutes to 1 hour more.

  • Advertisements

    3 thoughts on “‘Mock Pok’ Chicken Wings

    1. Andee

      Thanks for this recipe, it looks great! I’ll be trying it out for New Year’s.

      But just to let you know, this is the Pok Pok recipe, and it has no soy sauce in it, nor any gluten at all. It’s possible you were cross-contamed over there since they don’t make GF items in separate facilities or with separate equipment, but you could easily make the stuff from the original recipe at home, assuming you’re not allergic to anything else in it.

      Reply
    2. Christy

      I made these for a party for all my husbands artsy work friends — they were a big hit, and he got lots of compliments on them the next day. I just now noticed that you mention adding garlic the La Brea recipe, but that there’s none listed in this blog recipe. I did not add garlic–should I next time?

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

    