Kellogg’s. C’mon. Get with it. In the last several years, GlutenFreePDX has run this blog with the thought of informing people about all things gluten-free. And in all of that time, the VERY MOST referenced article includes the keywords “Is Crispix Gluten Free?” The simple answer is no. It’s not. We get this query every single day. This isn’t an article we are happy to write, it’s out of pure frustration. One of the biggest cereal makers in the world is sitting on its hands. And they’re sitting on a potential goldmine.
- Here are the ingredients in Crispix, a seemingly safe food for those of us who need to eat gluten-free: Milled corn, rice, sugar, contains 2% or less of salt, molasses, malt flavoring, baking soda, turmeric color.
The only thing in that list that is not naturally gluten is malt flavoring. And Kellogg’s is trying to tell us that with all of their billions of dollars, their fancy scientific kitchens and squadrons of food engineers, they can’t alter the recipe in the very slightest to reach a much bigger audience? We are calling bulls**t. Indeed, they made a small amount of headway this year by introducing gluten-free Rice Krispies, but we’re talking about a company with billions in profits, able to reach thousands of grocery stores around the country. We expect a company with hundreds and hundreds of products to offer more than one cereal without gluten in it. On that note, a classic product like Corn Flakes could also be made gluten-free with just the change of one ingredient.
Along with this post, we are going to be sending a letter to Kellogg’s, asking them why their company is so reluctant to enter into the gluten-free market. We are hoping that some consumer pressure will add some momentum to their product development, and let them know that as consumers, we vote with our dollars. We encourage you to do the same.
Kellogg’s Consumer Affairs
P.O. Box CAMB
Battle Creek, MI 49016