Review: Petunia’s Pies and Pastries

If I could conceive of my dream GF bakery it would turn out looking exactly like Petunia’s. Walking into a dedicated gluten free facility generally has a very positive effect on me (i.e. OMG I can eat anything??) but in addition to this Petunia’s has employees outfitted in handmade uniforms, a cute yet clean and sophisticated design, and I do believe I saw a jadeite mosser glass cake plate. This is my new happy place.

Me, coincidentally matching the Petunia’s color palate.

ImageA successful wholesale business raked in capitol for founder Lisa Clark, and distribution in local coffee shops gave her brand recognition and credibility in the Portland GF market. I think I can safely say that we’ve all been looking forward to this opening, and it certainly did not disappoint.

On top of the dessert treats we’ve come to love (like Millionaire bars and Mint Chocolate Brownies) there is a list of savory items including White Bean, Kale & Tomato Soup, Seasonal Green Salad and Seasonal Vegetable Cheese Tart. But Ben and I arrived early in the day Saturday and couldn’t resist testing some cookies and a double chocolate “Babycake” along with our Stumptown coffee.

The Double Chocolate “Babycake”

Image

Ben enjoying some chocolate mint cookies!Image

It was such a great experience I decided to return later that night for a cocktail. With a special drink menu created just for Petunia’s by Aviation Gin and an adorable staff shaking them up, you can’t go wrong stopping in for a quick sip. They are pretty sweet and the bakery closes at 11pm so I wouldn’t peg this as my new watering hole, but I had a grand time sitting in a cute candlelit bakery sipping a Brandy cocktail from a coupe with my friend.

Libby sipping the Water Lily signature gin cocktail (and also coincidentally matching!)Image

The Widow’s Kiss signature brandy cocktail.Image

Petunia’s, you officially get the Gluten Free PDX stamp of approval!

One thought on “Review: Petunia’s Pies and Pastries

Leave a Reply

